Advanced search

News > VISAS & Immigration > Short-term stay (inferior to 90 days) > Do you need a Visa? > Schengen Visa Information

Schengen Visa Information

On 26 March 1996, the Schengen Agreement entered into force which removed internal border controls between the signatory states of Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Subsequently Austria, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Iceland, Norway and Sweden joined the aforementioned countries. Border control for entry into the Schengen area is carried out on the external borders of these countries. With the treaty of Amsterdam (1997) the Schengen agreement has been incorporated in the other treaties of the European Union. Only Ireland and the United Kingdom didn’t sign the Schengen agreement. When Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and the Czech Republic joined the European Union in 2007, they inevitably joined the Schengen area. The most recent Member States to join are Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Communal laws, for example in terms of visas and external border controls, have been adopted in order to allow the free circulation of people within the Schengen area. This means that a visa issued by one of these states also enables the holder to move freely within the other states whilst the visa is valid. This visa is commonly known as the "Schengen visa" as it is named after a small Luxembourg village on the river Moselle on the Franco-German border where the Schengen agreements were signed.
The Schengen visa is a short stay visa (maximum stay of three months within a six month period) for business, tourist visits, family visits etc.


There are two types of Schengen Visa

Type A: Visa de transit aeroportuaire (Airport transit visa)
This visa constitutes an exception to the general rule allowing transit without a visa in the international zone of airport transit. The visa does not allow access to the Schengen territory.

Type C: Visa de court séjour (Short stay visa)
This visa allows entry into the Schengen territory for a maximum uninterrupted stay of 90 days over a period of six months. The visa can be issued for single or multiple entry. In the event of multiple entries, the total duration of the different stays spent in the Schengen area cannot exceed 90 days over a period of six months.

Applications for a Schengen visa should be made to the Embassy or Consulate of the country which is the main destination of the visit.

- Click here for information on how to obtain a Schengen Visa
- Click here for a list of Visa charges


List of the Luxembourgish representations in terms of Visa   

The Grand duchy is present in 27 countries through own diplomatic missions. In addition to these missions, Luxembourg is represented by the member states of the Schengen convention in almost every other country around the world.
Register of the diplomatic missions (World map)
Note: The Ministry of foreign affairs hereby gives notification that Luxembourg’s partners in some cases are outsourcing the collection of  Visa applications and/or the  settlement of appointments. This means that appointments or the deposition of applications can’t be done at the embassy itself but instead are processed by an external provider. This collaboration is limited for the collection of Visa applications in the area of Istanbul.