Advanced search

News > VISAS & Immigration > Long-term stay (superior to three months) > Third-country national who is a family member of a Union...

Third-country national who is a family member of a Union citizen

Conditions for a stay superior to three months

The third-country national who is a  family member of a  Union citizen has the right to reside in Luxembourg for more than three months if he/she accompanies or joins a Union citizen who fulfils the conditions to reside in Luxembourg for more than three months himself/herself
( Long-term stay, Union citizen, Conditions for a stay superior to three months)

To enter Luxembourg, the third-country national who is a family member of a Union citizen, must fulfil the entry conditions for Luxembourg and be a holder of a valid passport and, if need be, the required visa (or a residence card for family members of a Union citizen issued by the Luxembourg Government or by another member State of the EU).

To find out if you require a visa to enter the Schengen area and Luxembourg, please see:

Do you need a visa?

 

Procedure to be followed before entry on territory

In case the third-country national is subject to visa obligation

The third-country national must apply for a visa in order to join a Union citizen or a Luxembourgish national.

For further information on the procedure to be followed, please see:

Documents to be presented by the third-country national for the visa application in order to join a Union citizen or a Luxembourgish national  

In case the third-country national is not subject to visa obligation

There is no procedure that needs to be followed.

 

Procedure to be followed upon arrival on territory

The family members of a Union citizen who are third-country nationals must apply to their municipality (“Administration communale”) within three months after their arrival in order to request a « residence card for family members of a Union citizen or of a national of one of the States adhering to the agreement on the European Economic Area or the Swiss Confederation » (“Carte de séjour pour membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union”).

Request for a residence card for family members of a Union citizen (only available in French)

Request for statement of fact of a long-lasting relationship (only available in French)

Remark: The renewal or the replacement of the residence card can be applied for by using the same form, ticking the adequate type of application on the front page and by enclosing the documents requested for the renewal or the replacement of the residence card.

 

Working in Luxembourg

The third-country national who is a family member of a Union citizen has the right to work without having to apply for a work permit first, except for the family members of Croatian nationals.

 

For further information on the procedure to be followed, please see:

Work permit for Croatian national

Work permit renewal for Croatian nationals (only if the expired work permit’s validity was inferior to one year) (only available in French)

 

Mandate:

The applicant can appoint somebody to apply for a work permit for him/her. In this case, the appointed person (proxy), except for juridical consultants, must have a duly signed and dated mandate from the principal. The signature on this mandate must be preceded by the hand-written phrase “good for power of attorney”.

Model of a mandate/proxy

 

Stay superior to five years

After five years of uninterrupted residence in Luxembourg with the Union citizen, the third-country national, family member of a Union citizen is entitled to a Permanent Residence Card (“Carte de séjour permanent de membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union”). The application must be sent to the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (address: B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

Request for a Permanent Residence Card of a family member of a Union citizen (only available in French)

Remark: The renewal or the replacement of the Permanent Residence Card can be applied for by using the same form, ticking the adequate type of application on the front page and by enclosing the documents requested for the renewal or the replacement of the Permanent Residence Card.

Recherche avancée

Accueil > VISAS & Immigration > Long séjour (supérieur à trois mois) > Ressortissant de pays tiers qui est membre de famille d’u...

Ressortissant de pays tiers qui est membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union

Conditions d’un séjour supérieur à trois mois

Le ressortissant d’un pays tiers qui est le  membre de famille d’un  citoyen de l'Union a le droit de séjourner au Luxembourg pour une durée supérieure à trois mois s’il accompagne ou rejoint un citoyen de l’Union qui lui-même satisfait les conditions pour séjourner au Luxembourg pour une période supérieure à trois mois
( Long séjour, Citoyen de l’Union, Condition d’un séjour supérieur à trois mois)

Pour entrer au Luxembourg, le ressortissant de pays tiers, membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union, doit remplir les conditions d’entrée au Luxembourg et notamment être muni d’un passeport en cours de validité et, le cas échéant, du visa requis pour l’entrée sur le territoire (ou d’une carte de séjour de membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union délivré par le Luxembourg ou par un autre Etat membre de l’Union européenne).

Pour savoir si vous êtes soumis à l’obligation de visa pour entrer dans l’Espace Schengen et au Luxembourg, veuillez consulter :

-    Est-ce que j'ai besoin d'un visa? 

 

Démarches à faire avant l'entrée sur le territoire

Au cas où le ressortissant de pays tiers est soumis à l’obligation de visa

Le ressortissant de pays tiers doit introduire une demande de visa en vue de rejoindre un citoyen de l’Union ou un ressortissant luxembourgeois.

Pour de plus amples informations sur la procédure à suivre, veuillez consulter :
Documents à produire par un ressortissant de pays tiers lors de la demande d'un visa en vue de rejoindre un citoyen de l’Union ou un ressortissant luxembourgeois

Au cas où le ressortissant de pays tiers n’est pas soumis à l’obligation de visa

Il n’y a pas de démarches à faire.

 

Formalités à remplir sur place

Les membres de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union qui sont ressortissants de pays tiers s’adresseront dans les trois mois de leur arrivée à l’administration communale du lieu de leur résidence pour faire une demande en obtention d’une « carte de séjour de membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union ou d’un ressortissant d’un des Etats ayant adhéré à l’Accord sur l’Espace économique européen ou de la Confédération suisse ».

Demande de carte de séjour de membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union  

Demande de constatation de l’existence d’une relation durable

Remarque : Le renouvellement ou le remplacement de la carte de séjour peuvent être sollicités par ce même formulaire en cochant sur la première page le type de demande correspondant et en joignant à la demande les pièces indiquées sur le formulaire pour le renouvellement ou le remplacement d’une carte de séjour.

 

Exercice d'une activité rémunérée

Le ressortissant d’un pays tiers qui est le membre de famille d’un citoyen de l'Union a le droit d’exercer une activité salariée sans devoir demander une autorisation préalable, sauf les membres de famille des citoyens provenant de la Croatie.

 

Pour de plus amples informations sur la procédure à suivre, veuillez consulter :

 

Autorisation de travail du citoyen croate

 Demande en renouvellement d’une autorisation de travail du citoyen croate (uniquement si l’autorisation de travail expirée a eu une durée de validité inférieure à un an)

 

Mandat:

Le requérant peut conférer mandat à une personne tierce l’autorisant à introduire la demande à sa place. Dans ce cas, le mandataire, à l’exception des conseils juridiques, doit justifier du mandat lui conféré par une procuration dûment datée et signée par le mandant, la signature devant nécessairement être précédée de la formule manuscrite « bon pour procuration ».

Modèle de mandat

 

Séjour supérieur à cinq ans

Après cinq ans de séjour ininterrompu au pays avec le citoyen de l’Union, le ressortissant de pays tiers, membre de famille d’un citoyen de l'Union, a droit à l’obtention d’une carte de séjour permanent. La demande est à adresser à la Direction de l’Immigration du Ministère des Affaires étrangères (adresse postale : B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

Demande de carte de séjour permanent de membre de famille d’un citoyen de l’Union

 

Remarque : Le renouvellement ou le remplacement de la carte de séjour permanent peuvent être sollicités par ce même formulaire en cochant sur la première page le type de demande correspondant et en joignant à la demande les pièces indiquées sur le formulaire pour le renouvellement ou le remplacement d’une carte de séjour permanent.