Advanced search

News > VISAS & Immigration > Long-term stay (superior to three months) > Third-country nationals

Third-country nationals

Conditions for a stay superior to three months

The third-country national who wishes to reside in Luxembourg for more than three months must fulfil the entry conditions for Luxembourg
(« Short-term stay, Third-country nationals, Entry and residence conditions for a short-term stay »).

In order to reside on the territory lawfully, he/she has to follow a procedure that is composed of two steps:

  • Step 1 : Request a temporary authorisation to stay (“autorisation de séjour temporaire) before coming to Luxembourg
  • Step 2 : Follow the procedure upon arrival in order to be issued a residence permit (“titre de séjour”)

 

Procedure to be followed before entry on territory: Apply for a temporary authorisation to stay (Step 1)

Every third-country national who wishes to reside in Luxembourg for more than three months must apply for a temporary authorisation to stay (“autorisation de séjour temporaire”) before entering the country. The application is to be sent to the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (address: B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

The application needs to be submitted and favourably advised before the entry on the Luxembourg territory. An application submitted after arrival on the territory is inadmissible.

The authorisation to stay can be requested for one of the following categories:

Salaried worker:

Highly qualified worker (European blue card):

Researcher:

Transferred worker:

Posted worker:

Independent worker:

Family member of a third-country national:

For private reasons:

Student:

Unremunerated trainee:

Athlete or instructor:

Volunteer:

Pupil: 

Au Pair:

 

Mandate:

The third-country national can appoint somebody to submit the application for him/her. In this case, the appointed person (proxy), except for juridical consultants, must have a duly signed and dated mandate from the principal. The signature on this mandate must be preceded by the hand-written phrase “good for power of attorney”.

Model of a mandate/proxy

If the application for an authorisation to stay is favourably advised, the third-country national receives a « temporary authorisation to stay ». This temporary authorisation to stay is valid for a period of 90 days. During this time, the third-country national must :

  • either request the visa to enter the Schengen area, if he/she is subject to visa obligation;
  • or, if he/she is not subject to visa obligation, enter the territory of Luxembourg and declare his/her arrival at the municipality of the chosen place of residence.

 

Procedure to follow upon arrival on territory: Procedure to obtain a residence permit (Step 2)

After entering Luxembourg, the third-country national must follow the procedure to obtain his/her residence permit (“Titre de séjour”).

1. Within the three working days following the entry of the third-country national on Luxembourg territory, the holder of the temporary authorisation to stay must submit a declaration of arrival (“Déclaration d’arrivée”) to the municipality (“Administration communale”) of the chosen place of residence. A copy of the declaration will be issued to him/her as receipt. The holding of this receipt and of the temporary authorisation to stay proves the lawfulness of the residence up to the issue of the residence permit.

2. After, the third-country national must take a medical examination with a general doctor established in Luxembourg and authorised to work as such, or as house physician or paediatrics specialist. This visit is not reimbursed by Social Security. Then, he/she has to take a tuberculosis test at the “Ligue médico-sociale” ( www.ligue.lu ). These results will be sent to the Ministry of Health who will inform the Immigration Directorate if the medical conditions are fulfilled in order to obtain a residence permit for Luxembourg.

3. Finally, the third-country national applies for the issue of the residence permit at the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs by using the form to apply for the issue of the residence permit and by enclosing the documents enumerated on the form.

Application for issue of the residence permit for third-country nationals (only available in French) 

4. After reception of the application for issue of the residence permit and the notification of the medical results by the Ministry of Health, the Immigration Directorate invites the applicant by letter to present himself/herself personally at their counters with his/her valid passport, for the biometric data (photo and fingerprints) to be taken. This data will be incorporated in the residence permit. The applicant may bring a photo. This photo needs to be conforming to the norms of the OACI/ICAO (« standard biometric passport »).

The counters of the Immigration Directorate are open from Monday to Friday, from 8.30 am to 11.30 am and from 13.30 pm to 16.00 pm.

 

5. The applicant must come personally to get his/her residence permit at the Immigration Directorate a few days after the biometric data capture. The exact date will be communicated to him/her at the counter after the biometric data capture.

6. Once the residence permit is obtained, he/she must return to the municipality (“Administration communale”) to confirm the declaration of arrival in order to be able to receive a residence certificate (“Certificat de résidence”).

 

Important notice:

The residence permit contains information on the holder (name, first name, nationality, date and place of birth) as well as specific information on the residence permit (category, period of validity).

For some categories of residence permits, complementary information is written in the field “observation” of the residence permit. The list of observations and more detailed explanations on the different types of observations are available here:

Liste of observations (available in French only)  

The observation on the residence permits for “salaried worker” (“travailleur salarié”), “family member” (membre de famille”) and “private reasons” (“vie privée”) may also include a 3-digit-code. This code indicates the occupation for which the access to the labour market is granted. The code is derived from the International Standard Classification of Occupations (ISCO) which is an international classification of jobs, developed by the International Labour Organization. 

A complete list of all ISCO codes is available here :

ISCO classification

More information on the ISCO classification is available on the website of the International Labour Organization : 

http://www.ilo.org/public/english/bureau/stat/isco/index.htm

 

Renewal of the residence permit

At the latest two months before the expiry of the residence permit, the third-country national must apply for a renewal of his/her residence permit to the minister in charge of immigration. The application is to be sent to the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (address: B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

Salaried worker:

Highly qualified worker (European blue card):

Researcher:

Transferred worker:

Posted worker:

Independent worker:

Family member of a third-country national:

For private reasons:

Student:

Unremunerated trainee:

Athlete or instructor:

International protection:

 

Important notice:

The residence permit contains information on the holder (name, first name, nationality, date and place of birth) as well as specific information on the residence permit (category, period of validity).

For some categories of residence permits, complementary information is written in the field “observation” of the residence permit. The list of observations and more detailed explanations on the different types of observations are available here:

Liste of observations (available in French only)  

The observation on the residence permits for “salaried worker” (“travailleur salarié”), “family member” (membre de famille”) and “private reasons” (“vie privée”) may also include a 3-digit-code. This code indicates the occupation for which the access to the labour market is granted. The code is derived from the International Standard Classification of Occupations (ISCO) which is an international classification of jobs, developed by the International Labour Organization. 

A complete list of all ISCO codes is available here :

ISCO classification  

More information on the ISCO classification is available on the website of the International Labour Organization : 

http://www.ilo.org/public/english/bureau/stat/isco/index.htm  

 

Stay superior to five years

The third-country national that can prove his/her legal residence for an uninterrupted period of five years on the territory of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg immediately preceding the introduction of the application, can apply for the status of long-term resident to the minister in charge of immigration. The application is to be sent to the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (address: B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

Application to obtain the status of long-term resident for a third-country national (only available in French)  

Application for renewal of the residence permit for a third-country national as "EU long-term resident" (only available in French)

 

Replacement of a residence permit

If the residence permit has been lost, stolen or destroyed, the third-country national has to submit an application for replacement of the residence permit.

Application for replacement of the residence permit for a third-country national (only available in French)

Recherche avancée

Accueil > VISAS & Immigration > Long séjour (supérieur à trois mois) > Ressortissants de pays tiers

Ressortissants de pays tiers

Conditions d’un séjour supérieur à trois mois

Le ressortissant de pays tiers qui souhaite séjourner au Luxembourg pour une période supérieure à trois mois doit remplir les conditions prévues pour l’entrée au Luxembourg.
(« Court séjour, Ressortissant de pays tiers, Conditions d’entrée et de séjour inférieur à trois mois »)

Il doit en outre suivre la procédure en vue d’un séjour régulier sur le territoire, qui est composée de deux étapes consécutives :

  • Etape 1 : Demander une autorisation de séjour avant de venir au Luxembourg
  • Etape 2 : Remplir des formalités après l’entrée pour obtenir un titre de séjour

 

Démarches à faire avant l’entrée au Luxembourg : Demande en obtention d’une autorisation de séjour (Etape 1)

Tout ressortissant de pays tiers qui souhaite séjourner au Luxembourg pour une durée de plus de trois mois doit, avant son entrée sur le territoire, introduire une demande en obtention d’une autorisation de séjour auprès du ministre ayant l’Immigration dans ses attributions. La demande est à adresser à la Direction de l’Immigration du Ministère des Affaires étrangères (adresse postale : B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

La demande doit être introduite et avisée favorablement avant l’entrée sur le territoire luxembourgeois. Une demande introduite après l’entrée sur le territoire est irrecevable.

L’autorisation de séjour peut être sollicitée pour une des catégories suivantes :

Travailleur salarié :

Travailleur hautement qualifié (carte bleue européenne) :

Chercheur :

Travailleur salarié transféré :

Travailleur salarié détaché :

Travailleur indépendant :

Membre de famille d’un ressortissant de pays tiers :

Pour raisons privées :

Etudiant :

Stagiaire non rémunéré :

Sportif ou entraîneur :

Volontaire :

Elève :           

Jeune Au Pair:

 

Mandat:

Le ressortissant de pays tiers peut conférer mandat à une personne tierce l’autorisant à introduire la demande à sa place. Dans ce cas, le mandataire, à l’exception des conseils juridiques, doit justifier du mandat lui conféré par une procuration dûment datée et signée par le mandant, la signature devant nécessairement être précédée de la formule manuscrite « bon pour procuration ».

Modèle de mandat

Si la demande en obtention de l’autorisation de séjour est avisée favorablement, le ressortissant de pays tiers obtient une « autorisation de séjour temporaire ». Cette autorisation de séjour temporaire sera valide pendant une durée de 90 jours. Pendant ce temps, le ressortissant de pays tiers doit :

  • soit solliciter le visa d’entrée dans l’Espace Schengen, s’il est soumis à l’obligation de visa ;
  • soit, s’il n’est pas soumis à l’obligation de visa, entrer sur le territoire luxembourgeois et faire une déclaration d’arrivée auprès de l’administration communale de son lieu de résidence.

 

Formalité à remplir sur place: Démarches pour obtenir un titre de séjour (Etape 2)

Après son entrée au Luxembourg, le ressortissant de pays tiers doit faire les démarches afin d’obtenir un titre de séjour.

1. Au plus tard dans les trois jours de son entrée au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, le détenteur d’une autorisation de séjour temporaire doit s’adresser à l'administration communale de son lieu de résidence pour y souscrire une déclaration d’arrivée. Une copie de la déclaration lui est délivrée en guise de récépissé. La détention du récépissé et de l’autorisation de séjour justifie de la régularité du séjour jusqu’à la délivrance du titre de séjour.

2. Après, le ressortissant de pays tiers doit se soumettre à un examen médical auprès d’un médecin établi au Luxembourg et y autorisé à exercer en qualité de médecin généraliste, de médecin spécialiste en médecine interne ou de médecin spécialiste en pédiatrie. Cette consultation n’est pas remboursée par la Sécurité sociale. Puis, il fait un test de tuberculose auprès de la Ligue médico-sociale ( www.ligue.lu ). Les résultats des tests sont envoyés au Ministère de la Santé qui informe la Direction de l’Immigration si les conditions médicales requises pour le séjour au Luxembourg sont remplies.

3. Enfin, le ressortissant de pays tiers sollicite la délivrance de son titre de séjour auprès de la Direction de l’Immigration du Ministère des Affaires étrangères moyennant le formulaire de demande en délivrance d’un titre de séjour et en joignant à sa demande les pièces énumérées sur le formulaire.

Demande en délivrance d’un titre de séjour pour ressortissant de pays tiers

4. Après réception de la demande de délivrance du titre de séjour et de la notification des résultats des examens médicaux par le Ministère de la Santé, la Direction de l’Immigration invite le demandeur par courrier à se présenter personnellement dans ses guichets, muni de son passeport en cours de validité, aux fins de la prise d’une photo et des empreintes digitales qui seront incorporées dans son titre de séjour. Il lui est loisible de se munir d’une photo récente, conforme aux normes de l’OACI/ICAO (« standard passeport biométrique »).

Les guichets de la Direction de l’Immigration sont ouverts du lundi au vendredi, de 8.30 à 11.30 heures et de 13.30 à 16.00 heures.

5. Le demandeur doit retirer son titre de séjour personnellement à la Direction de l’Immigration quelques jours après la saisie des données biométriques. La date exacte lui est communiquée au moment de son premier passage au guichet.

6. En dernier lieu, il s’adresse à l’administration communale de son lieu de résidence pour confirmer sa déclaration d’arrivée, afin qu’il puisse continuer à jouir de son droit en obtention d’un certificat de résidence.

 

Remarque :

Les titres de séjour contiennent des informations sur le détenteur du titre (nom, prénom, nationalité, date et lieu de naissance), ainsi que des informations spécifiques sur le titre de séjour (catégorie du titre, date de début et de fin de validité du titre).

Certaines catégories de titres de séjour contiennent des informations supplémentaires, indiquées dans le champ « observation » du titre de séjour. La liste des observations ainsi que des explications sur les différentes observations, est disponible ici :

 Liste des observations

Pour le titre de séjour « travailleur salarié », « membre de famille » et « vie privée », l'observation sur le titre de séjour peut inclure un code à trois positions. Ce code représente l’occupation pour laquelle l’accès au marché de l'emploi est accordée définie selon la classification ISCO (ou CITP - Classification Internationale Type Professions). La classification ISCO est une classification internationale des professions, développée par l’Organisation internationale du Travail.

Classification ISCO

Pour de plus amples informations sur la classification, veuillez consulter le site internet de l’Organisation internationale du Travail   

 

Renouvellement du titre de séjour

Au plus tard dans les deux mois avant l’expiration du titre de séjour, le ressortissant de pays tiers doit introduire une demande de renouvellement auprès du ministre ayant l’Immigration dans ses attributions. La demande est à adresser à la Direction de l’Immigration du Ministère des Affaires étrangères (adresse postale : B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

Travailleur salarié :

Travailleur hautement qualifié (carte bleue européenne) :

Chercheur :

Travailleur salarié transféré :

Travailleur salarié détaché :

Travailleur indépendant :

Membre de famille d’un ressortissant de pays tiers :

Pour raisons privées :

Etudiant :

Stagiaire non rémunéré :

Sportif ou entraîneur :

Protection internationale :

  

 

Remarque :

Les titres de séjour contiennent des informations sur le détenteur du titre (nom, prénom, nationalité, date et lieu de naissance), ainsi que des informations spécifiques sur le titre de séjour (catégorie du titre, date de début et de fin de validité du titre).

Certaines catégories de titres de séjour contiennent des informations supplémentaires, indiquées dans le champ « observation » du titre de séjour. La liste des observations ainsi que des explications sur les différentes observations, est disponible ici :

Lien sur le document pdf (liste des observations)

Pour le titre de séjour « travailleur salarié », « membre de famille » et « vie privée », l'observation sur le titre de séjour peut inclure un code à trois positions. Ce code représente l’occupation pour laquelle l’accès au marché de l'emploi est accordée définie selon la classification ISCO (ou CITP - Classification Internationale Type Professions). La classification ISCO est une classification internationale des professions, développée par l’Organisation internationale du Travail.

La liste complète des codes ISCO est consultable ici :

Lien sur le document pfd (codes ISCO français)

Pour de plus amples informations sur la classification, veuillez consulter le site internet de l’Organisation internationale du Travail 

 

Séjour supérieur à cinq ans

Le ressortissant de pays tiers qui justifie sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, d’un séjour régulier ininterrompu d’au moins cinq années précédant immédiatement l’introduction de la demande, peut demander l’obtention du statut de résident de longue durée auprès du ministre ayant l’Immigration dans ses attributions. La demande est à adresser à la Direction de l’Immigration du Ministère des Affaires étrangères (adresse postale : B.P. 752, L-2017 Luxembourg).

Demande en obtention du statut de résident longue durée pour ressortissant de pays tiers

Demande en renouvellement d'un titre de séjour "résident de longue durée UE" pour ressortissant de pays tiers

 

Remplacement d’un titre de séjour

 En cas de perte ou de vol d’un titre de séjour, de même qu’en cas de détérioration du titre de séjour, le ressortissant de pays tiers demande le remplacement de son titre de séjour.

Demande en délivrance d’un remplacement d’un titre de séjour pour ressortissant de pays tiers