Advanced search

RP New York > About Luxembourg >

About Luxembourg

Official designation:
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

Political regime:
Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy

National Anthem:
Ons Heemecht


Luxembourg flag

Prime minister:
H.E. Mr. Xavier Bettel
(since 4 December 2013)
    Minister of Foreign and European Affairs:
H.E. Mr. Jean Asselborn
(since 31 July 2004)
National language:
Luxembourgish (lëtzebuergesch)
    Administrative languages:
French, German, Luxembourgish
2586 km² (999 square miles)
524,853 inhabitants (as of 2012)
Luxembourg-City (100,390 inhabitants, as of 2013) 
    Administrative divisions:
3 districts
(Luxembourg, Diekirch, Grevenmacher)
12 cantons, 116 municipalities

Official links to comprehensive information on Luxembourg: