Luxembourg at the UN

By signing the UN Charter in San Francisco on the 26th of June 1945, Luxembourg became the smallest founding member state of the United Nations Organization. Luxembourg is a committed member of the Organization and a strong supporter of the multilateral cooperation.

In 1975, H.E. Mr. Gaston Thorn, Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg, presided over the 30th session of the General Assembly. 

In 1988, Luxembourg donated the sculpture "Non-Violence", also known as the “Knotted Gun” (by Carl Fredrik Reuterswärd)  to the UN.

In 2000, Luxembourg Official Development Assistance (ODA) went beyond the threshold of 0.7 per cent of GNP fixed by the General Assembly. In 2010, the ODA reached 1.09 per cent of GNI, and Luxembourg's authorities are determined to maintain this effort. 

Luxembourg is contributing on a voluntary basis to numerous activities of the UN and its funds and programs. According to figures used by the Statistics Division, Luxembourg is one of the top contributors per capita to the regular budget of the UN. 

Since the 55th session of the General Assembly, the Permanent Representative of Luxembourg has been chairing the coordination of the humanitarian resolutions of the Plenary.

In 2001, Luxembourg presented its candidacy for a non permanent seat in the Security Council (2013-2014) and was elected on 18 October 2012. 

Luxembourg acted as Vice-President of the 58th session of the General Assembly (Sept.2003-Sept.2004).

In 1976, 1980, 1985, 1991, 1997 and 2005 , Luxembourg acted as the Chair of the European Council of Ministers, representing the European Economic Community and later the European Union at the UN.

During the 61st session of the General Assembly, the Permanent Representative of Luxembourg, together with the Permanent Representative of Barbados, acted as Co-chairs of the intergovernmental consultations on System-Wide Coherence (SWC).


Luxembourg was a member of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) for the period 2007-2009. In 2008, Luxembourg was elected member of the ECOSOC Bureau

H.E. Ambassador Sylvie Lucas, was elected sixty-fifth President of the Economic and Social Council  on 15 January 2009. She held the Presidency until 19 January 2010. 

As of February 2011, Luxembourg is assuming the Chair of the Peacebuilding Commission's newly created Guinea Configuration

Luxembourg has participated and continues to participate in peace keeping operations of the UN or mandated by the UN.

Last update